City Scope Hong Kong

IPL 2020: awards ceremony

IPL 2020: awards ceremony

After two months of intense cricketing action, defending champions Mumbai Indians went on to add another trophy in their cabinet as they beat Delhi Capitals in the finals of the 13th edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL). Overall, Mumbai Indians is now two-time Champions Trophy winner and five-time IPL winner. While the team members and owners were ecstatic as they created history, there were few more awards that were given for individual brilliance throughout the season. Here’s a look at the awardees.

Orange Cap

The Orange Cap is awarded to the individual who scores most runs in the season. Captain of Kings XI Punjab, KL Rahul won the award as he scored 670 runs in 14 games at a solid average of 55.83. Although his team didn’t qualify for the playoffs, Rahul impressed everyone with the bat.

Purple Cap

The Purple Cap is awarded to the individual who takes the most number of wickets in the season. Delhi Capitals’, Kagiso Rabada won the award as he picked up 30 wickets in 17 matches. Rabada was instrumental in breaking partnerships at important moments that helped his team make it to the finals.

Emerging Player

IPL provides the opportunity to young players to showcase their talent. One such player who proved his mettle at the big stage was Royal Challengers Bangalore’s Devdutt Padikkal. The left-handed opener scored 473 runs in 15 games at an average of 31.53.


The Most Valuable Player (MVP) award is given to an individual who creates an impact with his all-round performance. Rajasthan Royal’s Jofra Archer won the MVP award for contributing both with the ball and bat.

Most Sixes

T20 cricket isn’t entertaining if there aren’t enough boundaries and sixes. The individual who scores the most number of sixes in the tournament receives an award for showcasing his might. Mumbai IndiansIshan Kishan struck 30 sixes and bagged the award this year.

Power Player

Powerplay overs are crucial as the complexion of a game can change in those six overs with the field restrictions on. Mumbai IndiansTrent Boult dominated the opposition with the new ball as he picked up wickets and was economical.

Super Striker

Run-a-ball score in T20 cricket is considered inferior. To cause an impact on the game, a batsman needs to strike in excess of at least 150. This year, Mumbai IndiansKieron Pollard had a strike rate of 191.42 and was the leader of the pack.

Game Changer

With one century and five half-centuries to his credit, KL Rahul secured most points to become the Game Changer of the season. He played vital knocks and saw his team through in difficult situations.

Every year, the team that shows the spirit of the game and respects its opposition, is awarded the Fairplay Award. Mumbai Indians conquered the field with their game-play as well as respect for the opposition.

Article by: Abhinay Pandey

City Scope

City Scope

City Scope is your window into the vibrant and diverse city of Hong Kong. Our aim is to bridge the gap between Hong Kong locals and non-locals by exploring the commonalities and embracing the differences. With writers from varied cultural and professional backgrounds, we bring a global perspective to our readers. From culture and cuisine to finance and lifestyle, there's something for everyone in each issue. Join us as we showcase the best of Hong Kong and the world beyond.